Style of the new game...

JimmyTwoBucks

Hi... long time Space Quest fan, this is my first time posting...

I'm really looking forward to the new game, and I'm sure it'll be amazing.

Though one thing makes me uneasy, though just in a small way and I wondered if anyone else felt the same...

One of the reasons I really liked Space Quest, was that the characters and environments all were done in a sort of "realistic" style, like Roger looked like he could be a "real" person and the places he went looked like they were done seriously.

I thought that made the game really involving and also made the humor even funnier, because it was contrasted with a "real" and "lived-in" sci-fi world that had all this cool stuff like space malls and space fast food, etc.

While the new game, just from the style of the artwork, seems to have moved away from that a bit?

Like Ace Hardway seems more "cartoony" in his look, like he has a really exaggerated neck and everything.

I just hope the new world that's being created still has a sort of grimy, lived-in feel, rather than a more cartoony one...

I know Space Quest 6 had a slightly more cartoony feel than the previous ones, though I felt it still had enough solid environments that made it feel like a real place...

Hey, Jimmy. Thanks for stopping by. There's Keronian ale in the fridge; help yourself.

One of the reasons I really liked Space Quest, was that the characters and environments all were done in a sort of "realistic" style, like Roger looked like he could be a "real" person and the places he went looked like they were done seriously.

While the new game, just from the style of the artwork, seems to have moved away from that a bit?

Like Ace Hardway seems more "cartoony" in his look, like he has a really exaggerated neck and everything.

I just hope the new world that's being created still has a sort of grimy, lived-in feel, rather than a more cartoony one...