What made Space Quest special

Telix Zmodem

What made Space Quest special to you? For me, it was:

1. The games were funny! As a kid, I enjoyed the humor more so than LSL, which was over my head!

2. The box art was great! It stood out at Software Etc. It was like Star Wars.

3. There was no 'Star Wars Adventure Game', so it was something that was new, but similar to what I wanted.

4. This was before 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' so it also reminded me of 'Star Trek TOS'.

5. Other games like KQ had you play as a specific character, but Roger was generic enough that I could see me as Roger. It seemed more immersive.

6. It was a game I could play with friends, especially if they hadn't seen it, I would give the full presentation and hype it up like a movie. For a single-player game, that was awesome!

7. I studied every screen of Space Quest games. Mark Crowe did some awesome work with the graphics and animations. It was a very inspirational series!

Can't wait for the SpaceVenture!

It's tough for me to nail down one thing. It's just a great combination of a bunch of things that I loved, pretty much exactly the things you listed, Telix. I also loved the art. It was fantastic. I love sci-fi, it was a wonderful experience to explore the universe where literally anything could pop up next. And it was great humour to boot. Just all around great. True exploration and a journey. True ADVENTURE.

Well, the humor was certainly important. And the graphics too, they were nice.

But a really important thing was being able to type things into a *machine* and (for a 8-9 year old kid) this computer *understands* you. Albeit it especially understands all the cuss words you know.